The EYFS framework is structured very differently to the national curriculum as the focus is the seven areas of learning. The three prime areas are:

  • communication and language.
  • physical development.
  • personal, social and emotional development.


The four specific areas are:

  • literacy.
  • mathematics.
  • understanding the world.
  • expressive arts and design


Within each subject area, the relevant area/s of focus is identified. 


We use the Development Matters framework to support our planning of the curriculum.